Book I Want To Read In 2016! (Pt. 3)

Good morning everyone! Welcome to the third and final part of the my ‘Book I Want To Read In 2016!’ It is honestly so hard to stop adding books to my list, and to be honest I probably won’t, but for this three part blog post I will be stopping at the end of this upload. There are already books and series I’ve found since starting these posts that I want to read, but I refrained from adding them on for now. I am intrigued to see how many of these books I can get through in 2016.

So, the final books that are currently on my official Goodreads to-be-read list are:

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Saint Anything

I often come across the titles and covers of Sarah Dessen’s book and I have always been interested in reading some of her work. I have realised that my TBR list is slightly lacking in contemporary novels – which I absolutely love to read – and so I am so very happy that this is on my list. It is about a girl named Sydney, who is overshadowed by the dramatic life of her older brother, Peyton. In the midst of her search to be seen, Sydney meets the Chathams, and the gentle and protective, Mac.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything

The main character, Madeline, has not left the house for seventeen years as a result of a severe disease. One day, however, she sees a boy moving in next door and she knows, she is going to fall in love with him. This sounds both heart-warming and heart-breaking and I’ve heard good things about it. I’ve wanted to read it for a while now.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey

A YA novel by Sophie Kinsella? I need it! Finding Audrey is about a young girl with anxiety disorder, who has been attempting to work through her problems with Dr. Sarah. However, it is Linus with whom she makes a real connection and finds someone who she can truly talk to about everything. I honestly cannot wait to read this, it sounds so emotional, but I hope it will also be uplifting.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On

I can’t miss a YA Rainbow Rowell book. Carry On is kind of a spin-off novel from Rainbow Rowell’s previous novel, Fangirl (which I loved). In Fangirl, the main character, Cath, and her sister, Wren are obsessed with a fictional series called Simon Snow. They write their own fanfiction based on that series, which they call Carry On. And Rainbow Rowell published this! How cool is that?!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae Cover

I’ve heard soooooo much buzz about this book. It is set in the year 2575, and two rivalling megacorporations are fighting over a tiny planet. Kady and Ezra escape with an evacuating fleet, and it follows their story. I believe it is told through computer communications, like instant messaging between the characters, or a computer talking directly to the reader etc. (which just sounds awesome!) I’ve also heard that the audiobook is amazing – and I really want to spectacularly stunning hardcover edition of this book! ALSO this is actually going to be a series of books. The second book, Gemina, is being released this year!

Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer

Twilight

Although I didn’t love the Twilight books, I can’t not read this. It is a special edition to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Twilight. Basically, it is the same story as the original Twilight, but the genders are switched! Bella’s character is now a boy, and Edward’s character is now a girl. And all the other character’s genders are also switched. I think this is such an interesting thing for Stephenie Meyer to have done, and I am too intrigued to not read it. Also, no fans knew she was writing it and then suddenly it was published!

Books by Colleen Hoover

Colleen

In terms of YA contemporaries, I’ve heard that Colleen Hoover is good author to turn too. Obviously, I do have my favourites, such as Stephanie Perkins and Gayle Forman, however I am more than happy to accept another favourite onto my list. Some of Colleen Hoover’s books I hope to read this year are Ugly Love, Confess, and November 9.

Soundless by Richelle Mead

Soundless

Fei lives in a village without sound. The terrain makes it impossible for them to leave the village and they rely on the supplies sent to them on a zipline. The village descends into crisis when people start losing their sight and the supplies diminish. And then one day Fei is woken by a noise. This sounds incredibly original and an interesting premise for a great and epic story.

Just One Day Trilogy by Gayle Forman

Just One Day

This includes Just One Day, Just One Year, and Just One Night. I am a huge fan of Gayle Forman, and I loved her books If I Stay, Where She Went and I Was Here. I have never picked up these three, more adulty, type books, but I’m sure they are just as great. Just One Day is about a girl named Allyson who likes to have everything in her life organised and planned. On the last day of her three week tour of Europe, she meets Willem, and is invited to go to Paris with him – a totally unexpected event that was not part of any plan.

And finally,

The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds

This includes The Darkest Minds, Never Fade, and In The Afterlight. After a brutal disease kills most of America’s children, Ruby is sent her to a brutal ‘rehabilitation camp.’ Ruby, as well as some of the other surviving children, emerged from the disease with frightening abilities. Now they are the dangerous ones. This sounds like another amazing YA series and it is also yet another series I can’t believe I haven’t read yet!

And there you have it – I’ve finally come to end of my list. Again, let me know if you’ve read any of these and what you thought. I will hopefully be posting book reviews on most of them throughout the year. Thank you so much for reading my posts. Hope you are having a great week!

Lots of love,

Laura x

Leave a Reply

