Books I Want To Read In 2016! (Pt. 2)

Hey everyone! So, as promised, here is part 2 of my ‘Books I Want To Read In 2016!’ post. Today I will go through the next amazing bunch of books on my TBR list this year. There isn’t really much else to say as an introduction, so let’s get straight into it…

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Lunar Chronicles

A set of fairytale retellings in the sci-fi genre. I have already read the first book in this series, Cinder, which is based on Cinderella. I did enjoy it, but I still feel like I haven’t properly sank my teeth into this series. I’m excited to pick up the second book. The rest of the series is compiled of Scarlet, based on Little Red Riding Hood, Cress, based on Rapunzel, and Winter, based on Snow White.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless

Another fairytale reimagining from Marissa Meyer, this time about the backstory of the Queen of Hearts from Alice In Wonderland. It just sounds awesome! Unfortunately, it isn’t going to be released until November, but hopefully it’ll be worth the wait! It also doesn’t have a cover yet, but it will surely be fantastic.

Miss Peregine’s Peculiar Children Series by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine

This series is about an abandoned orphanage on a mysterious island. The main character, Jacob, travels there after a family tragedy and starts to explore. He learns about the children who lived there, and that somehow they might still be alive. I’ve heard so much about this series and it sounds so intriguing. I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet! It includes Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, Hollow City and Library of Souls.

An Ember In The Ashes Series by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember

An Ember In The Ashes is the first book, and then the second book, A Torch Against The Night, is scheduled to be released in August. Inspired by Ancient Rome, this is the story of Laia and Elias. Laia lives with her family in an the brutal Martial Empire and her brother is arrested for treason. If she is to have a hope of getting help from the rebels to rescue him, she must spy for them in the Empire’s military academy, where she meets a soldier called Elias. Wow – this sounds a-m-a-zing!

Untitled Standalone by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins

Okay breathe. A Stephanie Perkins book. AND it’s in the horror genre! And the synopsis says is going to be in the vein of Scream! I absolutely adore the Anna and the French Kiss companion trilogy by Stephanie Perkins so I was so excited to hear about this new book. And a YA horror? Hello? – Awesome!

Snow Like Ashes Series by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes

This includes Snow Like Ashes, Ice Like Fire and, the third book, Frost Like Night, which is scheduled to be released this year I believe (and does not yet have a cover). This series is about the Kingdom of Winter, which is conquered and its citizens enslaved, their magic being taken from them. The main character, Meira, embarks on a adventure to find the ancient locket that will bring back the magic.

Magonia Series by Maria Dahvana Headley

Magonia

The first book, Magonia, is the story of a girl called Aza Ray who has a mysterious disease that makes it hard for her to breathe. But, one day she sees a ship in the sky, and hears someone calling her name. She becomes part of a whole new world, where so is powerful and strong. She becomes part of Magonia, but conflicts arise and she must decide where her heart lies. This sounds like a deeply emotional story, but also very magical. I am really looking forward to reading it! There is going to be a second book released this year, called Aerie, which follows on.

A Darker Shade of Magic Series by Victoria Schwab

A Darker Shade 2

 

This includes A Darker Shade of Magic, A Gathering of Shadows and a third, and currently untitled book, which is still to come. Based on the concept of a parallel universe, more specifically, parallel London. It does sound kind of complex, but also magical and interesting! I’ve heard amazing things about Victoria Schwab, so I feel it is about time to pick up some of her books.

And that’s it for part 2! Okay, so know some of you might be thinking that this is a pretty ambitious amount of books. I mean I haven’t finished yet (part 3 will be the final part, I promise). But, I guess this is the books that I want to read. And, what’s the point of saying you can’t do something? I mean the chances are I won’t get through them all, but there is no point saying that now. I’ll see how far I get.

Hope you enjoyed this post – please let me know in the comments if you have read any of these books, or if you’re planning to read them soon! Part 3 will be up tomorrow.

Lots of Love,

Laura x

3 thoughts on “Books I Want To Read In 2016! (Pt. 2)

    1. I KNOW RIGHT!! How awesome does that sound?! 😊 I’m so excited for it 😊
      Yeah I think I will read An Ember in the Ashes soon, when I read the synopsis I was so excited 😊
      Glad you enjoyed my post, thanks for reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

