Books I Want To Read In 2016! (Pt. 1)

Hey everyone! It’s the 10th January 2016 and I only just started my first book of this year a few days ago – more than a week in! I finally got myself a copy of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, which I have been wanting to read forever, and so far it’s encapsulating and pretty epic!

Recently, I’ve decided I need more of a plan of action in terms of my reading for 2016. I made a goal for the year: to read all the books which are currently on my TBR (to-be-read) list (50+ books!)

I figured that if I do a blog post about all the books currently on my list (or several blog posts), it will allow me to have them all written down and then I can look back at the end of the year. I will probably be adding to my Goodreads TBR list as the year goes on, so I don’t want to lose track!Β I also aim to upload a book review for each and every one of the books I read this year.

Obviously, it is hard to pick which books to read because there are so many and literally hundreds of YA books are screaming at me to read them. However, to keep it somewhat realistic I have frozen my list as it is for this blog post, so at least you can see what is presently on there.

And, therefore, without further ado, I present part 1 of the list of books I am going to read in 2016, starting with my current read:

The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass
UK Editions

This includes Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, The Assassin’s Blade, and any other novellas). These books follow the story of a famous, young assassin named Celaena Sardothian, trying to earn her freedom. So far I am loving Throne of Glass –Β plus look how STUNNING the covers are!

The A Court of Thorns and Roses Series by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

This series so far includes A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury, which is being released this year! There is also a third one scheduled to be published in 2017, which currently has no title. It is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and I’ve heard only brilliant things about it, so I definitely want to start reading these this year.

Boyfriend by Christmas by Jenny Stallard

Boyfriend by Christmas

This is a book I got for Christmas in 2015 and I think I will now be saving it for next December, so as to get be in the festive spirit. It is about a blogger who lives in London (basically my dream life!) And she has a deadline to find a boyfriend by Christmas or find a new job. Sounds like a brilliant Christmas romance story, which I just love!

Summer Days & Summer Nights by Stephanie Perkins

Summer Days

As a follow up to My True Love Gave To Me, I was so excited to find out about this book, set for release in June this year. Another set of short YA love stories edited by Stephanie Perkins – oh, and this one includes a story by Veronica Roth (SOLD!) I cannot wait to get my hands on this.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger

An epic tale of time travel and life at sea. Basically, everyone in the world of booktube is raving about this book and, I have to agree, it does sound rather marvelous. I’m not sure how soon I can get myself a copy of this one, but I know it has just been released in the US, so maybe I’ll order one over. Looks so good!

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything

Eeek! This is TOO exciting! I absolutely love Morgan Matson and I was so excited to discover that she has a new standalone novel coming out this year. So far, I have enjoyed Since You’ve Been Gone and Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour. The Unexpected Everything is about a girl named Andie, who is supposed to have it all planned out, however she is still searching for the unexpected.

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword

This is the second book in the Red Queen series, the first of which I read last year and I really enjoyed it. It is about a society that is divided between the red bloods (the commoners) and the silver bloods (the elites or royals). Mare is a red, but she has a superpower…just like the silvers. It is about how she gets caught up in their world. Looking forward to the follow up.

The Raven Cycle Series by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Cycle

Includes The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves, Blue Lily, Lily Blue and The Raven King. The fourth book is scheduled for release this year. These are about a girl called Blue Sargent, whose psychic family tell her she will one day cause the death of her true love. That didn’t seem like much of a problem before she met the raven boys.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight

This is to be the first book in a new series called The Dark Artifices, as a kind of addition to the archives of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. Set five years after the events of The Mortal Instruments, in Los Angeles, we are introduced to another story of Shadowhunters. I haven’t read every book in these various series, but I do plan to! If you need to read the others beforeΒ Lady Midnight, then I will have to retrace my steps.

The Winner’s Curse Trilogy by Maria Rutkoski

The Winners Curse

Includes The Winner’s Curse, The Winner’s Crime and The Winner’s Kiss. The third book is being released this year. These books follow the story of 17-year-old Kestrel, who is stuck with a choice. Join the military or get married. But, when she buys a young slave from an auction, named Arin, everything changes.

The Wrath and the Dawn Series by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath

Includes The Wrath and the Dawn and The Rose and the Dagger. A reimagining of The Arabian Nights, it is the story of a land ruled by a murderous young king, who uses his power to inflict heartache and horror. Again, I’ve heard a lot about this one on booktube and it sounds really intriguing!

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Second Chance Summer

The second Morgan Matson book on my list – and these are top of my summer reads for 2016! I can’t believe I still haven’t read Second Chance Summer, but I feel it would only be right to wait for a sunny day. It is about a family who decide to spend one last summer at their lake house, where Taylor may find a second chance.

The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The Last Star

This is 100% one of my most anticipated books of 2016. The third book in Rick Yancey’s series, after The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea, both of which I read and loved. As aliens continue to inhabit the bodies of humans, Cassie continues to fight to stay alive. Honestly, this is awesome!

And that’s it for part 1 – being the first page of my Goodreads list. Hope you approve of my choices, I’m looking forward to reading them! Part 2 of my list will be posted on Tuesday.

Please comment below any books you want to read in 2016! I hope you have a great day – I’m off to do some uni work now!

Lots of love,

Laura x

 

7 thoughts on “Books I Want To Read In 2016! (Pt. 1)

    1. Yes! So glad you agree 😊 do you have a favourite? I think Since You’ve Been Gone is my favourite so far, but I love everything I’ve read by her. Thank you so much for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

