The 5th Wave Trailer Reaction

Hello everyone! I have finally gotten around to writing a post I’ve been wanting to write for days because this trailer is FREAKIN’ FANTASTIC! I mean, seriously, it just looks so much like how I pictured the story and the characters when I was reading the books! I am so excited! It looks like this is going to be a stunning adaptation and I cannot wait!

Poster 2

The 5th Wave is the first book in a YA dystopian sci-fi series by Rick Yancey. The second book in the series is called The Infinite Sea and the third book is called The Last Star (which is yet to be released). I read the first two books probably about a year ago now and I absolutely love them! When I found out The 5th Wave was going to be made into a film I was so crazy excited and even more so when I found out that Chloë Grace Moretz would be playing the lead role, Cassie.

Recently, TWO TRAILERS have been released! First we got the most awesome “first look” trailer. And second, we got a full-length theatrical trailer – which is the one I will be discussing today as it shows us even more.

Aaah, I’m just watching it again now and deciding what to write and I just can’t get over how perfect it is. I mean, it has the right vibe, the setting appears to be completely en point and the casting has been chosen so well! Okay, I am going to try and explain this in an understandable way without fangirling every two seconds…

1

2

Cassie Sullivan is just a normal girl. She loves her family. She goes to school. She stares at the ever so gorgeous boy who she believes will never know who she is. And then everything changes. The shots of this school scene we get, followed by a plane falling from the sky, perfectly captures the atmosphere of complete uncertainty and confusion that clouds Cassie’s world as the first wave hits. The plane falling from the sky is TERRIFYING.

After the first 0.11 seconds of this trailer I already want to quote so many things…

Alright, be good, and if you can’t be good…” – Oliver Sullivan

Don’t get caught” – Cassie Sullivan

Family is such an important theme in Yancey’s books. One of the major plot points of The 5th Wave is about Cassie searching for her brother. The adorable shots of her family in the opening of the trailer look so good! I already feel that this film is really going to portray the characters well and completely break our hearts.

3

WOOAH. This shot is cool. I mean terrifying, but extremely cool. The trailer throws us right into the alien invasion, which hopefully means the film will throw us straight into the action.

I didn’t know it then, but that was the last normal day of my life” – Cassie Sullivan

Just before this shot we see Cassie’s brother, Sammy, running outside to look at the huge UFO. I already want to run out after him and protect him – he’s too cute! I am so pleased they seem to have got all the characters right.

4

Colonel Vosch. Looks how I imagined him to look. I remember this part of the books being really sad. After their camp comes under attack and they all get separated, setting the scene for the rest of the story.

After this we are taken through a reminder about the four different waves that have already hit the earth. The aliens took all the power, then an earthquake causing mass destruction…

Oh my gosh, I had to include this screen shot because it is just insane!

5

Then a fearsome worldwide disease. And the fourth wave…

We can’t trust anyone anymore” – Oliver Sullivan

This is one of the most intense elements of the narrative. “The others” live among them and there is no way to tell them apart from innocent civilians. There is no trust and no safety. It is such a dynamic and unpredictable narrative that seemed to have been captured so well in the film adaptation.

6

This trailer has reminded me how many awesome plotlines there are in this story. The book is multi-character lead. This shot is part of the whole army training camp side of the story where all the characters get really cool secret army names, like Zombie (being the insanely good looking Ben) and Nugget (being Cassie’s brother, Sammy). And then you find out who is behind the whole training programme and it’s like…MIND. BLOWN. The quick-fire shots we get of the army camp look action-packed and exciting!

8

7

So this is Evan Walker. I don’t know how they managed to get so much of this film so right. Just look at him. He is Evan. And also the characters are so complex in this series, it isn’t like one of those predictable love triangles. I’ve read both books so far and I still can’t really understand how Zombie feels about Cassie. When I look at the actors and quick snippets we get of both Evan and Zombie I just think “Yeah, that’s is almost exactly how I imagined them.”

9

And the scene with the crucifix soldier just looks so perfect aaah!

Okay, I will stop there. As you can tell I am very, very pleased with this trailer! Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Lots of love,

Laura x

3 thoughts on “The 5th Wave Trailer Reaction

Leave a Reply

