Top Ten Tuesday – Books I want to read right now

Hey everyone! Top Ten Tuesday is an insanely popular book tag/weekly meme that was originally created by The Broke and the Bookish. I have been interested in participating in this tag for ages and I have finally found out where it comes from and how to get involved.

Logo

Today is my first week and it is a “freebie” week. It took me ages to decide what to do for my top ten list, but I eventually settled on the top ten books I want to read right now. Here is a problem we can all relate to. So many books, so little time. My TBR list is always longer than is realistic and I have to deal with the constant struggle of not buying any more books until I’ve actually read the ones I have!

And so we begin with…

Number 10

Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed In Blood

Recently I have really been wanting to try out a YA horror. I have heard of this one before and it sounds really intriguing. I don’t know why anyone would want a job as a ghost killer. Cas Lowood travels around doing just that: killing the dead. He begins the search for a ghost called Anna Dressed in Blood who was murdered in 1958. She is known to kill anyone who disturbs her, but for some reason she spares his life. I am excited to read a horror because I’ve heard there is nothing more terrifying than your own imagination.

Number 9

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass

I am trying to find a high fantasy series that suits me. I mean I read the first two books of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, City of Bones and City of Ashes, and then got bored. I just finished reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer and I am not overly excited to read the follow up, Scarlet. I love fantasy but it has been a while since I really sank my teeth into one.

Number 8

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Let's Get Lost

For readers of John Green” (Fresh Fiction). Take a bunch of random characters and send them on an epic road trip. Then label is as something John Green fans will like and I’m there! It sounds like each other characters are going through their own set of issues and they will each help each other along the way. I guess I can settle for this whilst I wait for John Green to release a new book!

Number 7

We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

We All Looked Up

I feel that this may be a sit up and think about life kind of book, which is always good once in a while. What would you do if an android was heading towards earth and you had two months to live your life to the full? Imagine what kind of crazy stuff would happen in those two months. I really enjoy the occasional sci-fi story. I am loving The 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey and I feel that this may have a similar vibe.

Number 6

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

I am keen to start this series. I really enjoy stories that are set in the real world, but have a kind of non-real world element to them if you get what I mean. Like If I Stay by Gayle Forman. All the characters are realistic and their relationships are believable, but the story is taken deeper by Mia’s experience of “the inbetween.” Mara Dyer suffers a terrible accident that causes the death of her best friends and boyfriend. After that she starts to see other people’s deaths right before they happen.

Number 5

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Second Chance Summer

Although it isn’t summer anymore this is still pretty high on my TBR list. I have read two other books by Morgan Matson, Since You’ve Been Gone and Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, and I just love her style and characters. Taylor Edwards’ family decide to spend one last summer at their old lake house where Taylor must face those she thought she had left behind. Part of me is tempted to save this for next summer. P.S. the UK cover is waaaay better.

Number 4

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus

I have never heard a bad thing about this book. It looks so magical and intriguing. Erin Morgenstern has a really wonderful website as well (erinmorgenstern.com). The Night Circus is set in Victorian London (ahhmaagaad yes) and features a wandering circus and two rival magicians. It just seems like such a unique story world that I can’t wait to fall into.

Number 3

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything

There has recently been a huge buzz around this book. For starters the cover is B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L and I can’t help being drawn towards pretty book covers. But apart from that the story sounds exactly like the kind of story I will fall completely in love with. A quirky love story between two wonderful lead characters. I mean it is hard to beat John Green in this particular area, but I am still incredibly excited to read this one.

Number 2

The Death Cure by James Dashner

The Death Cure

I brought this book at the same time as Girl Online. It was Saturday, the day my parents drove me back to uni, and we went into town for a few bits and pieces (including two new books). I read the first two books in this series, The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials, not too long ago. However, I did not feel inclined to pick up the third book. After seeing the new film adaptation last week, I decided to give it another go. Dylan O’Brien has magical powers.

Number 1

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

Girl Online

This is my current read. I absolutely love Zoella and I have wanted to read her book for ages. I read a couple of chapters this morning and it is quite cute so far. The main characters are developing well already and I love the fact that Penny is a blogger. By the time I put it down all I wanted to do was come and write a blog post.

So there you have it. These are my top ten TBR books and I will try and more or less follow the order of this list from 1 to 10 over the next few months. I hope you enjoyed this post, let me know what books you are currently reading in the comments or any recommendations for books you think should have been on this list!

Lots of love,

Laura x

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I want to read right now

  1. So many of these on my TBR list (except the James Dashner one–I severely dislike The Maze Runner). I’m especially interested to read Anna Dressed in Blood, Throne of Glass, and The Night Circus. If you read them before me, let me know how they are!

    Re: The Mortal Instruments–the first few books were definitely better than the latter books, but I still enjoyed the whole series. However, the prequel trilogy–The Infernal Devices–I absolutely LOVED. Highly recommend them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll be sure to let you know if they are good or not, I have high hopes for them! I really want to read a YA horror, I feel like it will be different to anything else I’ve read. Yeeah I agree The Maze Runner isn’t the best but I have a thing about reading all the books which are being turned into films haha Oooh I might try The Infernal Devices then, I have heard a lot of good things about it 🙂

      Like

    1. Yeah I agree it was hard to pick just ten, but these are probably my most highly anticipated right now 🙂 and I really want to re read Harry Potter again 🙂 we shall have to swap notes on Anna Dressed in Blood when we have finished! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, EVERYTHING EVERYTHING is super fun and a really quick read. I could go with reading WE ALL LOOKED UP right about now – I’ve been meaning to get to it for a while but still haven’t squeezed it into the reading schedule just yet.

    Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 🙂 Yeah there is always soo many books I want to read haha I’ve only heard about Everything, Everything recently but I have only heard good things 🙂 Glad you liked it!

      Like

  3. Oh God, you have to read Throne of Glass. The first book is good, but if you read it and aren’t loving it it’s definitely worth pushing through to the second book in the series. From then on it’s fantastic. I want to read so many of these books, especially The Night Circus. This is such a good list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Everything, Everything was so SO good! One of the best contemporaries I’ve read this year – or maybe ever. It was really emotional and heartbreaking at times, yet it stayed super-cute and sort of light. It was a bit of an emotional roller coaster ride. 🙂 Unfortunately, I wasn’t a huge fan of The Death Cure but I’m still glad I finished the series, even though the ending was very underwhelming for me, but again many people loved it.
    Great list, hope you’ll get around reading these novels soon. 🙂
    Veronika @ My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comment! 🙂 I have only recently heard of Everything, Everything and it seems to be a gem that’s come out of nowhere, I am looking forward to reading it! Yeeah to be honest I don’t have very high expectations for The Death Cure but I have really enjoyed the movies so far so I thought I would give the last book a shot haha 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

