The Disney Book Tag

Good morning everyone! So the very lovely blogger of The YA Page tagged me in my first book tag since I become a book blogger. I mean I did pester a bit about how people even go about finding book tags, but I am hoping to do more in the future. So thank you for the tag! The Disney Book Tag was created by Katytastic, a well-known BookTuber.

As a huge lover of all things Disney and all things books, this is a great book tag to start on. It is fun to think back through all the books I’ve read. Also, I may tag a few of you guys at the end if you don’t mind!

The Little Mermaid

…a character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water”…

City of Bones

Simon in the first book of The Mortal Instruments series, City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, before he becomes a vampire. Simon is one of those adorably clueless characters in book 1, hopelessly falling for his best friend and completely lost on how to navigate her new world. He wants to be involved and to remain in Clary’s life, even if it is going in a much different direction than anticipated. However, in book 2 he starts to find his feet (or his fangs).

Cinderella

…a character who goes through a major transformation…

Since You've Been Gone

Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. When she attempts the first task on the list, “Apple picking at night,” she struggles to be herself around people who don’t know her. Throughout the book she gains more and more confidence and experiences. By the end, she is a very different character in all the best ways.

Snow White

…a book with an eclectic cast of characters…

Harry Potter

For this one, how could I go for anything but the Harry Potter series by J.K.Rowling. I mean you’ve got muggles, you’ve got the old and wise headmaster wizard, evil and twisted villains, the misunderstood villain, an abundance of faithful sidekicks and that’s before we even get to the main protagonists. Jo is such a skilled writer and her characters are, and always will be, some of the most powerful, diverse and believable characters I’ve ever read.

Sleeping Beauty

…a book that put you to sleep…

Eleanor and Park

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. Don’t get me wrong! I enjoy Rainbow Rowell’s writing, I loved Fangirl and Eleanor & Park didn’t exactly make me fall asleep whilst I was reading it. But, it just wasn’t as good as was expecting it to be, especially after I had read Fangirl. It is written well, it is a good book, but maybe I just didn’t get the vibe of it or something. I can’t really remember much detail about what happened in it, which isn’t a good sign.

The Lion King

…a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood…

The Book Theif

Liesel from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This book is absolutely one of my favourite books of all time. Liesel’s childhood is caught up in the midst of very difficult times. One of the reasons why I love this book so much is because it is so emotional and moving, but there is also a lot of light-hearted funny moments as well. At the end Liesel loses her family and I would really like to know how her life changed after that.

Beauty and the Beast

…a beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful…

Under the Dome

I read some biggish books, but I wouldn’t really say many of the books I read are “beastly.” I guess I will go for Under The Dome by Stephen King. This is a beastly book and it was quite intimidating. My dad read it, loved it and recommended it. It took me a good few weeks to get through and the storyline got pretty complex, but I enjoyed it. The characters are very well developed and some of the relationships between them are beautiful, hanging on those closest to them in the uncertain atmosphere under the dome.

Aladdin

…a character who gets their wish granted, for better or worse…

TFIOS

Hazel Grace Lancaster from The Fault in our Stars by John Green. She gets her wish of visiting Peter van Houten in Amsterdam, but he turns out to be an alcoholic who has pretty much lost all consideration for life. It is heart-breaking because Hazel travels to see him and he won’t even provide her with the answers she is seeking.

Mulan

…a character who pretends to be someone or something they are not…

Cinder

Cinder from Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I am actually reading this book at the moment and although it took me a while to get into it, I am loving it now! At the point I am at, Cinder still seems to be a bit ashamed of her cyborg-ness, like the way she pulls her shirt over the joint of her skin when Prince Kai is there. She tries to hide who she really is because she is afraid that he would be repulsed to find out the truth. I am excited to see how their relationship develops as the story continues.

Toy Story

…a book with characters you wish would come to life…

Game of Thrones

All the Game of Thrones characters by George R. R. Martin. I mean I would just love to hang out with them and tell them how cool they are. And then punch Joffrey and Cersei in the face.

Disney Descendants

…your favourite villain or morally ambiguous character…

Bellatrix

This is a difficult one. I would say my favourite villain is Bellatrix from the Harry Potter series. I don’t know how I can like her when she is so unquestionably evil, but she is kind of cool. I think it the way she trumps around, with her crazy hair looking like a psychopath. She is just a cool villain.

And that is the end of the Disney book tag! Hope you enjoyed reading through my replies.

I would like to tag a couple of awesome book blogs…

Ranae McBrian Books

Read at Midnight

Life is Sweet in Books

Book Snacks

Enjoy the rest of your day!

Leave a Reply

