Downton Abbey Final Series Trailer

If I haven’t already mentioned, I am a huge fan of Downton Abbey. One day, which scarily enough would have been a few years ago now, I was sitting with my parents in our living room and they were watching series one. It was the episode where Mrs Patmore gets cataracts and pours salt all over the pudding instead of sugar. I picked up the story of the episode, even though I had missed the beginning of the series. From them on I completely fell in love with Downton Abbey. I have them all on DVD now and here I am waiting for the final series.

I absolutely love the characters. I never care as much about what happens to a group of characters as I do when watching Downton Abbey. There has been some shocking and just downright heart breaking moments.

Today the trailer for the final series was released. The series will start on Sunday 20th September. I cannot wait to see it, although I know I will be so sad when it comes to an end.

The moment I heard the piano playing I knew it was going to be an emotional trailer and being the final series how could we expect anything less? The music is another of the many reasons why I love this series.

1

I wanted to cry seeing this shot of Carson’s name being removed from his door. Carson has been a key character from the very first episode. This shot really makes us feel that something is coming to an end. He is the butler of Downton Abbey and they always say the place could not run without him. His is the father of the downstairs family.

If I could stop history in its tracks, maybe I would. But I can’t Carson. For neither you nor I can hold back time” – Lord Robert Grantham, played by Hugh Bonneville

"Close up the windows"

Close up the windows

3

Lady Mary Crawley is a very complex character and she is almost completely different to the woman she is in series one. She changes a lot as she goes through the trials and traumas of her life, losing her husband Matthew and her sister Sybil, learning who she is and who she wants to be. The development of this character is truthful and emotional. I hope she finds a place to be truly happy again at the end of the final series.

"Bring the sun to my room through the door you've opened"

Bring the sun to my room through the door you’ve opened

5

6

Lady Edith Crawley has not always been the kindest of beings, but she has seen some hard times too and is often brushed aside. Will she finally find her happy ending? The previous few series have left me feeling so sad for her and I think she deserved something good to happen in these last episodes.

7

We have had our moments, haven’t we m’lady?” – Lady Mary Crawley, played by Michelle Dockery

We certainly have” – Joanne Froggatt

The friendship between Anna and Lady Mary has also developed from series one. I will be so sad if anything happens to set each of them on different paths. There are so many wonderful friendships and relationships in Downton Abbey which have been so well developed. If any of these come to an end it will be very emotional to watch.

"Time to say goodbye"

Time to say goodbye

This shot definitely hit me right in the heart. Mrs Hughes and Mr Carson have always loved each other as close friends, sharing their troubles and laughing at the end of a long day. But, in this series, I hope they become something more than that. In series one, Mrs Hughes wonders how her life would have been different if she wasn’t in service. If she had gotten married and settled down with a family. It breaks her heart a little to leave that dream behind. But, it seems she may still have a chance to marry the man she loves.

9

This makes us think about how far the series has come. It makes us think of Sybil and Matthew and all the wonderful moments, as well as the tragic moments.

10

Dame Maggie Smith is absolutely one of the most talented and fabulous actresses. She seems like such a lovely lady and her character, the Dowager Countess, is timeless. There are so many great moments created by her and some of those are also the most emotional and moving.

11

I don’t ever want to say goodbye to Downton Abbey, but the characters will live on and I’m sure I will watch the series over and over again.

What are your thoughts on the final trailer?

Leave a Reply

