Baking Days: Birthday Cake

Hey guys! On Monday night I made a birthday cake for my mum’s birthday on Tuesday. At first I wasn’t sure what kind of cake to make but I decided to go for a traditionally Victoria sponge, with jam in the middle and glace icing. I think the result was a very pretty and classic birthday cake, perfect with a cup of tea!

The Victoria sponge recipe was written by the one and only Mary Berry from her book Simple Cakes, which can be bought from Amazon here. Mary Berry truly is the queen of cakes!

Here are some pictures of my evening of baking…

The ingredients
The ingredients
Measure out the butter
Measure out the butter
Add the sugar
Add the sugar
Add the eggs
Add the eggs
Bake!
Bake!
Strawberry jam
Strawberry jam
Make a sandwich
Make a sandwich
Time to decorate!
Time to decorate!
'Happy Birthday'
‘Happy Birthday’
Finished!
Finished!

12

Before presenting it to the birthday girl!
Before presenting it to the birthday girl!

My sister has picked out a recipe for Nutella cheesecake which looks amazing. I also bought Tanya Burr’s book Love Tanya the other day which has all her recipes in it that I hoping to bake when I’m back at uni. 8 days until moving day!

Lots of love,

Laura x

One thought on “Baking Days: Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

