Cancer Research UK Digital Internship Days 19-21

Office

Me

Hey guys! So I’ve finished another week at my internship and now there is only two weeks remaining! I can’t believe how quickly it has flown by. I really got back into my main project this week after finding my feet following my three weeks away.

But, before I talk about that I will update you on my team’s current fundraiser. The thank you delivery packages fundraiser is picking up. We have collected several orders and I ordered some clear bags and silver ties online to make the packages. I am hoping to get some more people involved so we can add a good amount to our running total.

We also finished the ‘Guess how many sweets are in the jar’ fundraiser this week. We walked around small sections of the office and asked people to participate, meaning we raised more. Overall, we raised £24.14 from this fundraiser and Paul from Data Services was delighted to be presented with a jar of sweets at the end of a hard day’s work!

On Tuesday I did a presentation to my department about my trip to Salzburg (see photo). I made a PowerPoint, which included a slide devoted to The Sound of Music, and I told them all about the amazing people I met and the projects we worked on together. I was surprised to find that I actually started to enjoy the presentation as I got into it, when usually I am just nervous and can’t wait for it to be over. I am trying to get as much practice as possible, because I know that the more I do it, the easier it will get. One of the department managers is helping me in a presentation skills session next week.

In terms of my main project I am starting to build a blogging content guide for the CRUK digital team blog, which is what I have been trying to develop. This is basically a document of all my research and advice for anyone who wishes to contribute content to the blog in the future. I really hope this project is continued when I leave. I am planning to hold a small presentation and workshop in one of the meeting rooms in my last week to present this document. I am hoping to fit in another small presentation at another department meeting to explain everything that I have worked on over the course of my internship.

A few days off now and a couple of shifts at my part-time job before next week. Hope your all having a great week as well!

Lots of love,

Laura x

Leave a Reply

