Salzburg Diary Entry #2

Hey guys! So, I wanted to do some more posts about my trip to Salzburg in Austria. For entry number 2 I am going to include a lot of photos from week 1! I haven’t shown any with other people’s faces in, just in case they wouldn’t be happy featuring on my blog, but I hope you can get a good sense of how beautiful the country is and how much fun we had!

Dear Salzburg,

Please take a look at my pics!

Schloss

Seahorses

Every morning we wandered across the grounds from the hotel in the early sunlight towards a stunning palace called the Schloss Leopoldskron. If you’re a fan of The Sound of Music you will most likely recognise the second photo of the seahorses by the lake. Many iconic scenes were filmed here, such as the moment Maria and the children fall into the lake! As I big fan myself, having grew up watching the film, it was so exciting for me.

Library

We ate and studied in the palace and had full access to the rooms. I loved the library, which had a “secret spiral staircase.” You had to open a door in the side, which looked like a part of the bookshelves, to find the stairs. They led to the second level balcony, which wrapped around the entire outside of the room and housed many of the books.

Canal

Week 1 also saw our first visit to the canal, which is something of a “must-do activity” for SAC students. The moment we hit the freezing cold water it took our breath away and in between gasps we were just laughing and smiling so much. It was a lot of fun and, again, I couldn’t believe where I was.

Hills

Lake

On the Friday we went on an academy trip to the mountains of Gosau. It was so stunning. It felt like a dream to be swimming in the lake with a mountain backdrop and looking back at the pictures I can’t believe it was real! It was cold, but actually not as cold as the canal. We had fun exploring the Alps and taking “the hills are alive” photos, prancing around and pretending to be Maria.

Me

Me 2

Fort

Pretzel

View

On Sunday we went to the Schloss Hellbrunn and took photos next to the gazebo from the film! The Sixteen Going on Seventeen scene is one of my favourite film scenes ever. When I watched it growing up I always wanted to be Liesel and dance around the gazebo, jumping between the concrete benches.

We also went to the Hohensalzburg Fortress, ate salty pretzels and looked out of the most amazing views. I felt like I was getting to know Salzburg more and more each day. I was loving it!

I hope you enjoyed reading about my first week, stay tuned for more talk of my trip.

Lots of love,

Laura x

One thought on “Salzburg Diary Entry #2

Leave a Reply

