Cancer Research UK Digital Internship Days 16-18

Cake SaleMeSweets

Hey guys! So the Sunday just gone I flew back from Salzburg and the following day I returned to my internship in London. After three days I feel like I am getting back into the swing of things. I haven’t worked much on my project this week, but I have been getting involved in a lot of fundraising.

When I was away the interns were divided into fundraising teams and we began the race of who can raise the most money before the internship ends. I am working with three other lovely interns as ‘The Adventurous Angels’ and we are already on our third fundraiser!

On Monday and Tuesday we held a bake sale and the amount of cakes that were brought in was crazy. All the interns had been hard at work baking wonderful treats and others also provided some great bakes. Everyone at CRUK works as a huge team and everyone was delighted to be greeted by a whole table for of cakes, brownies and cookies on a Monday morning. On the first day we raised £202.33 and on the second day we added another £30! It was quite the success!

On Tuesday we also set up a ‘Guess how many sweets are in the jar’ fundraiser, with a jar full of Percy Pigs, Tangfastics, Skittles, Jelly Babies and Dolly Mixtures. I spent the afternoon playing around with clipart’s of sweets and making a poster to advertise.

Yesterday I started a fundraiser which was my idea and of which I am the main organiser. It is a candy gram fundraiser, so we are going to be making internal deliveries of packages of sweets around the office. It is going to be for the interns to say thank you to their managers and for anyone else to just brighten up someone’s day, all for £1.00 each. The little packages are going to have little labels with hand written messages.

I also had to take an office photo for the intern book, which will get when we finish. I was totally posing in this photo but I actually quite like it!

We have set up a Just Giving page if you’re interested in taking a look! Find it here. My internship is going so fast and I am learning so much, three weeks and then back to university I go!

Lots of love,

Laura xx

5 thoughts on “Cancer Research UK Digital Internship Days 16-18

    1. Aw yeah it is really fun and the people are so lovely! I applied online, there are loads of different departments you can go for and they have several intakes of interns per year 🙂 I’m not sure when the next applications are but I can try and find you a link or I can ask someone how you can get involved if you’re interested 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

