Cancer Research UK Digital Internship Day 1

Rooftop
The Angel Building rooftop lunch on Day 1

Hey guys! Today was a very exciting and important day for me as I experienced my first day working in London in a media based role. About a month ago I travelled from my university home in Bournemouth to The Angel Building in London for an interview at Cancer Research UK. A week later I was thrilled to be offered the position as a digital intern.

I arrived at the offices this morning for my first day and I was a good kind of nervous and very excited. The team were so friendly and welcoming and I got the impression that they all really enjoyed their jobs which was very encouraging. I laughed and smiled a lot throughout the day and really enjoyed meeting so many new people.

There are two new interns in the digital department so it was so nice to have a fellow intern to learn with. Upon arriving we were given a tour of the Cancer Research floors by a lovely member of the team who welcomed and initiated us into the team. We were introduced to all the people on the team and heard a little about their roles. Individual inductions with different team members have been arranged for us later in the week which I am very much looking forward to. It should give us more of a detailed insight into the different roles and jobs in the team and provide us with the opportunity to ask direct questions to different colleagues.

At around 12:30 my fellow intern and I went to grab a coffee and a sandwich from Pret A Manger, just outside The Angel Building. We took our lunch up to the rooftop seating area which had the most spectacular view of the city. We spotted Big Ben, The London Eye, The Shard and 30 St Mary Axe (The Gherkin). I could hardly believe it, sitting up there in such an amazing building in the middle of London as an intern. I just felt so lucky, excited and happy to be there.

After lunch we took part in a workshop with several of the digital team members. The purpose of the workshop was for the team to deliver a presentation they had been working on that explained a new way of working in the company. As new team members who were new to this particular method of working, we were able to help give feedback on whether the presentation explained it effectively. It was really interesting and we were included as part of the team which felt great. It was inspired by the team’s positive and dedicated approach to the work. The office had such a positive atmosphere, it was a brilliant working environment.

We were given our own desks within the digital department, a key card to open doors in the building and a locker. We were provided with our own log in details and started working on interactive induction quizzes on the intranet. My main priority as an intern is to work on the company’s new digital blog. I am so excited to work with the team! The world of digital media is my main interest area in terms of a future career so this role is absolutely perfect for me. I really believe digital media is going to become the most important platform of communication for company’s and businesses in the near future and I am excited to get into it.

I feel so lucky to have the opportunity to gain such great work experience. I have already become so inspired and encouraged by the team and it has only been one day. Tomorrow is going to be an induction with all the Cancer Research interns across all the departments (about 48 of us I think). It will be really fun to meet everyone and get to know more about the company.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my experiences. I would love to hear what you’ve been up to today!

Lots of love,

Laura x

Leave a Reply

