A Nice Little Surprise

Book Package 1

Book Package 2

I started my blog on the 23rd February 2015. My first post was a book review of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Since then I have written a fair few reviews for books and films, as well as talking about my life in general. A little while ago I began searching for work experience placements for the summer. I emailed a few book publishers and Short Books replied offering me the opportunity to review two of their newly published books on my blog. I was really excited that they were keen for me to feature their books and I obviously agreed to it straight away.

The other day I came home from uni to see a little white package sitting next to the door which was addressed to me! I ran upstairs and sat down to see my new books. Inside was a little note of thanks from Short Books which I thought was so lovely to receive and I still couldn’t believe that a publisher had just sent me books for free (also that little note will be going in my 2013-2015 scrapbook when I get to updating it over summer).

The package contained two books: What Was Never Said by Emma Craigie and The Enlightenment of Nina Findlay by Andrea Gillies. And these were also accompanied by press releases (one for each) which included lots more info to help when I came to writing the reviews. I thought it was really cool that I had received business press releases, it was the first time I felt that my blog could really go somewhere! I have finished reading What Was Never Said and I am currently working on the review, so look out for that soon! And I will be starting the second book asap.

Hope you’re all well and happy reading!

Lots of love,

Laura x

7 thoughts on “A Nice Little Surprise

    1. It was very gripping, emotional and eye opening. Very strong characters as well and I became aware of an issue that I didn’t know existed, definitely recommend! Thanks so much for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

