Update: End of Second Year

Hey guys! I have officially completed all my assignments for my second year of university! It has been such a fun year and I have met so many amazing people and learn so much. I have two weeks left in Bournemouth to celebrate with my housemates and my other uni mates before I will be moving back home.

London

I am so excited about this summer as I have been lucky enough to be offered a digital internship at Cancer Research UK in London. I went to an interview at their offices on Friday 15th and on the following Thursday I got the offer. I was so thrilled and I am determined to do a good job and learn what it is like to work in London in a media based role. I am super excited because London is one of my favourite places ever to go and I feel so lucky to have been given this opportunity.

As a digital intern, I will be assisting the digital team in the development of their new blog. As blogging has become something I really enjoy, this is such a cool role for me to have gained. I have learnt a lot about digital media this year and I am interested to expand what I have learnt and also put into practice. I will hopefully learn some ways to make this blog better too!

Also, and I honestly feel so grateful that everything just seems to be falling into place for me at the moment, I got an offer to go to The Salzburg Academy on Media and Global Change. It is a summer school which invites students from different universities across the world to come together, study and work on projects which explore how we can use the media to make a difference in the world. The 2015 class will be exploring the issue of civic voices, justice, rights and social change. We will be completing some reflective pieces of writing which will require our own research before we attend the academy, in preparation for our three weeks of study in Salzburg. We are given a roommate from a different university in the world so it will be a chance to meet some really interesting people and learn about other cultures.

Schloss LeopoldskronI will most definitely be blogging more about both my internship and my trip to Austria over the summer, telling you all about what I get up to and what I learn along the way. The Salzburg Academy is hosted at the Schloss Leopoldskron, the rococo PALACE where The Sound of Music was filmed back in the 60s. It is such a beautiful place and, being a huge fan of musical theatre, I cannot wait to see it and I think it will be such an inspirational place to study. We also get to explore the city of Salzburg at the weekends so look out for future posts on that!

Belle

I am insanely excited about my upcoming summer adventures so watch this space! As I have said, I have two weeks left to celebrate the end of the year before I go home to prepare for my internship. On the 6th June I have my university summer ball which is actually a huge fancy dress music festival and it was so much fun last year! Last time I dressed up as a greek goddess with three of my housemates, this year I really wanted to be a Disney princess! And since Belle has brown hair and loves books like me, I have decided to dress up as her. I will be doing an entire post showing the things I purchased for my costume soon.

Books

In terms of reading updates I have been rather busy with uni work and other things but I do have some exciting news on this too. I received an email from Short Book, a fiction and non-fiction publisher, asking if it would be okay to send me two of their new books for me to read and review on my blog. So I was like YES! I mean, how cool is that?! I received a parcel with two new books, press releases to provide more info and a little note of thanks. I was so chuffed and I have just this morning finished reading the first book they sent me so look out for a review very soon! It is called What Was Never Said and it is by Emma Craigie. They also sent me The Enlightenment of Nina Findlay by Andrea Gillies, which I will be starting on today and reviewing in a future post.

I am still addicted to Game of Thrones and I will now have a little bit of time to finish watching season 4. It is nice to have some time to relax and celebrate. I will be scrapbooking my second year of uni when I get home. I have half-filled a book already with photos from first year which I worked on over last summer so I would like to keep it going with photos of second year. I will probably do a post about that in future too, it will take me a while to order and pick which photos I want though, since there are many!

I hope your all well, let me know in the comments what you have been up to and what your plans are for the summer! Have a great day and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Update: End of Second Year

    1. Aw thank you so much πŸ™‚ I am very very excited! I will mostly definitely flounce around, singing and dancing, I am most certainly going to hunt out the little glass gazebo where Liesel dances with her soldier man (can’t remember his name right now oops). Thanks for your lovely comment! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

