The Scorch Trials Trailer

Film: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

Directed by: Wes Ball

Release date: 18/09/2015

Starring: Dylan O’Brien, Kaya Scodelario, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Aiden Gillen, Ki Hong Lee, Patricia Clarkson, Rosa Salazar, Giancarlo Esposito

Adapted from: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner (2010)

Hey everybody. So today the trailer for Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials was finally released and I want to just discuss my reaction to it and ask you guys what you think as well.

I really enjoyed The Maze Runner by James Dashner, the YA novel that the film is based on. I think the adaptation of the first film is very strong, the characters are pretty much how I imagined them and the whole design of the maze is en pointe.

Unfortunately, when reading the series I actually stopped after I read The Scorch Trials. I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first book and it took me a while to get through it. But, I remember saying at the time that if the second film is good it might lead me towards picking up the third book. From the looks of the trailer it seems I may need to pop to Waterstones sometime soon.

WHERE WE ENDED UP

Before we get to the trailer I want to quickly talk about the ending of The Maze Runner. I remember being so sad and shocked at the ending but it is so effective in terms of emotional response because of the main characters that are involved. I particularly like Gally as a character because to me he seems to be one of those misunderstood bad guys. He is in the same messed up situation as everyone else.

I think it is sad enough when he dies and then Chuck dies as well. It is a hard-hitting ending to a relentlessly action packed thriller. We are left hanging as the characters finally escape the maze, but are forced to take Gally and Chuck with them as nothing but memories.

THE FIRST TRAILER

So where do they go from here? Okay, let’s break it down. The trailer starts with some quickly edited clips of some moments which seem to be quite soon after the characters exited the maze.

It’s time now to begin phase two” – trailer voiceover

These clips are accompanied by a Divergent Jeanine-esque voice over who says “I think it’s safe to say the maze trials were a complete success. It’s too soon to say but, they could be the key to everything. It’s time now to begin phase two.” So, the heroes have escaped but this by no means the end of their fight for survival. They still don’t know who they can trust or what condition the world is even in.

WELCOME TO THE SCORCH

Enter Aiden Gillen a.k.a Petyr Baelish from Game of Thrones! Okay, I had no idea he was going to be in this film and I actually gasped out loud when I saw him in the trailer. Probably just because I love Game of Thrones so much right now and I thought it was pretty cool.

Scorch Trials 1

In the trailer he is represented as a figure of authority who is probably going to try and persuade the gladers to be on his side. I kind of get the sense that they are not open to trusting the first person they meet outside the maze which is very wise. Thomas still seems to be the leader and is acting with caution.

We see a brief clip from the first film as Thomas continues to mourn the loss of his friends. This sense of uncertainty builds up so much tension in the trailer. There is kind of this calm-before-the-storm sort of feeling and I could tell the second half of the trailer was going to be more action packed.

Scorch Trials 2

The trailer begins to pick up the pace as Thomas confirms that their new friends are not at all trustworthy. And then the action begins. Quick, jumpy edits, guns being thrown from hand to hand and lots of running. Petyr Baelish tries to stop them from escaping their organisations headquarters saying “…you kids won’t last one day out in the scorch.”

THE COURSE OF HUMANITY

In this trailer we get our first glimpse of the outside or, as it is now to be known, the scorch. The gladers are obviously shocked by what they discover and they must now decide where to go next. I am so excited to see some of the new characters I remember from reading the book and the new locations.

Scorch Trials 3

The gladers must adapt to their new surroundings which provides interesting creative opportunities for the costume and make up department. This film has a completely different setting to the first one, but the design of the world looks just as accurate as the design of the maze.

We get the sense that the gladers are going to be of the utmost importance to the future of humanity, but the specifics are still hazy. There is going to be more action, suspense, danger and new characters. I can hardly wait to see it all on the big screen. I am interested to see how they continue to develop the main characters as Dashner does in the books.

Let me know what you think of the new trailer in the comments! Better pick myself up a copy of The Death Cure!

Leave a Reply

