The Book Thief

This book is inspiring because: the way it is written is so beautiful, as are the messages that are weaved in between the words.

I have already uploaded my book review for The Book Thief (2005) by Markus Zusak as I finished it recently, and I absolutely love it! In fact, I love it so much I wanted to write another post on it, this time pulling out some quotes from the pages because there are so many wonderful messages in this book.

They go in no particular order:

I am haunted by humans.”

A snowball in the face is surely the perfect beginning to a lasting friendship.”

Often I wish this would all be over, Liesel, but then somehow you do something like walk down the basement steps with a snowman in your hands.”

Five hundred souls. I carried them in my fingers, like suitcases. Or I’d throw them over my shoulder. It was only the children I carried in my arms.”

Sometimes I think my papa is an accordion. When he looks at me and smiles and breathes, I hear the notes.”

There were people everywhere on the city street, but the stranger could not have been more alone if it were empty.”

The song was born on her breathe and died at her lips.”

The sound of the turning page carved them in half.”

A voice played the notes inside her. This, it said, is your accordion.”

That night, Liesel Meminger truly became the book thief.”

“…was covered in a yellow mist, which stroked the rooftops as if they were pets, and filled up the streets like a bath.”

With wonder, she smiled. That such a room existed!

Also, I came across this YouTube video about the film (which I will be watching and reviewing soon) and I thought it was really interesting so here it is:

3 thoughts on “The Book Thief

Leave a Reply

