The Young Victoria (2009)

Film: The Young Victoria

Directed by: Jean-Marc Vallée

Release date: 06/03/2009

Starring: Emily Blunt, Rupert Friend, Paul Bettany, Miranda Richardson, Jim Broadbent, Mark Strong

This film is inspiring because: the setting and period are so beautiful and elegant and the representation of romance and real lasting love is so believable.

This is the start of a new set of regular posts which will feature on my blog from this point on. They will fall under the category of Inspiration. Each time I will be discussing something, anything, that has inspired me or which I think will influence my writing in some way.

As someone with a passion for storytelling I am constantly looking for new narratives to engage with. One day, I hope to write my own young adult fiction novel, as I have previously mentioned, and I hope my voice is strong enough to content with the mighty authors who already reign the story world.

I am inspired by lots of different things and lots of different people. Most recently, I was reminded of how fantastic this film is when I watched it again the other day. It is the true story of how Princess Victoria of Kent became Queen Victoria of England at such a young age and how she faced the challenge of being pushed and pulled by everyone around her as a result of her unquestionable power.

This film is beautiful. The sets, the screenplay, the score and the acting performances are some of my favourite of any film I have ever seen. Emily Blunt is superb as the young Victoria, she plays the role with such a regal elegance it is hard to believe she is not of royalty herself. And don’t even get me started on Rupert Friend. He is so completely chivalrous and gracious, becoming the perfect husband who stands faithfully beside his new wife, to play the game of power with her, not for her.

Royalty

There are so many moments in this film that give me a shiver down my spine and bring tears to my eyes. There are also moments that make me stare in horror or get a lump in my throat from the promise of more tears. It is such an emotional story and it is told in such a beautiful way, with the focus on the relationship between Victoria and Albert. I love British history and the history of the royal family and there truly isn’t a dull moment in this film.

I am a bit of a sucker for fairy tales, princes and princesses, castles and palaces and the like, but I think what has also inspired me in terms of this film is the representation of love and the strength of the characters. I love the time period, the costumes are absolutely wonderful and I cannot imagine building a fictional world without going into detail on design, setting and costume.

I also love the scenes at the ball where Victoria and Albert have their first waltz. The score during this scene is lovely and I have always dreamt of being able to ballroom dance in a huge ball gown with a handsome prince (who hasn’t). I have always favoured the romantic ballroom scene, for example, from what I have seen of the similar moments in Disney’s recent Cinderella (2015) adaptation, it looks pretty magical.

What films have inspired you?

Leave a Reply

