Harry Potter New Illustrated Editions

Hey there guys! So today I was very excited to see that the cover for the 2015 illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling has been revealed. I actually didn’t know about these until I saw this new cover on Instagram this morning but I think it’s a really interesting way to renew the story and get the next generation reading.

I have been thinking about rereading the Harry Potter series for a while now so I have decided to wait and read them in these new editions. It has been announced that an illustrated edition for each book is planned for the future, set to be released one year after another.

Harry Potter New Cover

This is the cover for the first book. The artwork for these new illustrated editions is all being done by Jim Kay. I really like this cover as it is reminiscent of the films and of what we all imagine when we think of the Harry Potter world. It looks almost like a painting and I think to see different characters and snapshots from the story in this same style will be beautiful.

“…an implosion of brain-freezing terror” – Jim Kay on being chosen as the new illustrator

According to an online article from The Guardian by Michelle Pauli, Jim Kay won the Kate Greenaway medal in 2012 for his work on A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Pauli also reported that Kay described to The Guardian the feeling of “an implosion of brain-freezing terror” he had when he was chosen to illustrate these new editions.

It is true Harry Potter fans are some of the most dedicated and loyal and we all wait in anticipation to see what Kay can bring to the series.

11 thoughts on “Harry Potter New Illustrated Editions

    1. I know it’s really pretty! I have been so tempted to buy the most recent covers of the HP series and reread them all but I may just wait for these fabulous illustrated editions now! Although on Amazon you can pre order it and it is £30! But so worth it! 🙂 Thank you so much for my Versatile Blogger award nomination!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just recently got I to HP — late bloomer — so I couldn’t choose between the original or the new covers haha. I really wanted the hardcover box set but it was too expensive. You’re welcome on the nomination!! I love your blog, I’m so glad I follow you and thank you for following me! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah I see the dilemma, because the new covers are beautiful but the old covers are just classic! Yeeah hardcovers are the best it’s just cost :/ I have mostly paperbacks, I’m thinking of buying Cinder soon though, may get that in hardcover. Aw, thank you! That means so much to me, I love you blog too and you seem like such a lovely person! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha, yes exactly! It took me a while to choose. I prefer hardcovers to paperbacks because they don’t get folded easily and I always stuff books in my bag so I don’t have to worry as much but then paperbacks are so much cheaper!

        I got Cinder in hardcover and Scarlet (book 2) in paperback — hopefully that won’t drive me crazy haha. Thank you! You’re so sweet!

        Like

      4. Yeeah there is less worry about messy the book up but price is definitely also a worry, I’m a student and haven’t managed to get any work over Easter 😦 Oh have you read Cinder yet? Everyone raves about them so I want to get to them soon. I ended up buying the first Harry Potter book yesterday, I saw the pretty cover with the stars and I just had to get it! haha I haven’t read it since I realised I want to be a author so I feel like I want too. The HP’s are definitely some of my fave books ever! 🙂 I am currently reading The Spectacular Now though and it’s really cute!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Aw, I’m sorry to hear that! I was the same when I was a student. I graduated college a couple of months back and finding a job is so hard! I haven’t read Cinder yet. I’m finishing The Darkest Minds trilogy and then moving to Cinder! Ah!! Nice! HP is one of my faves, too. That’s great to hear about The Spectacular Now. I saw a copy at Wal-Mart the other day and I almost picked it up. Can’t wait to read your review.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yeah it is so hard because I live away from home so it’s hard to get a job when you keep moving around for weeks at a time haha Oooh, The Darkest Minds is also on my reading list, I would love to know what you think of it 🙂 Yeah I am loving it, I really want to watch the film version too because I love Shailene Woodley and Miles Teller. Aw thanks! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

