World Book Day

Since it is World Book Day today I wanted to contribute to the celebrations. World Book Day was arranged by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). It is recognised in the UK as the first Thursday in March and we first celebrated it in 1995, which is the year I was born.

As a lover of books I am all for the celebrating of reading and publishing. I still remember the days of dressing up at school, one year I was the White Witch from The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis (1950) along with two friends who, of course, became the lion and the wardrobe.

As part of the celebration I would like to share some book quotes from across my many years of reading.

For Narnia and for Aslan!” – C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)

Butterflies live only short lives. They flower and flutter for just a few glorious weeks, and then they die. To see them, you have to be in the right place at the right time. And that’s how it was when I saw the butterfly lion – I happened to be in just the right place, at just the right time.” – Michael Morpurgo, The Butterfly Lion (1996)

Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” – J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (1996)

Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” – J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.” – Veronica Roth, Divergent (2012)

A brave man acknowledges the strength of others.” – Veronica Roth, Divergent (2012)

Fear doesn’t shut you down; it wakes you up.” – Veronica Roth, Divergent (2012)

As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” – John Green, The Fault in Our Stars (2012)

Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” – John Green, The Fault in Our Stars (2012)

Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.” – Gayle Forman, If I Stay (2009)

But the you who you are tonight is the same you I was in love with yesterday, the same you I’ll be in love with tomorrow.” – Gayle Forman, If I Stay (2009)

If you don’t imagine, nothing ever happens at all.” – John Green, Paper Towns (2009)

For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.” – Stephanie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss (2010)

Boys turn girls into such idiots.” – Stephanie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss (2010)

Always do what you are afraid to do.” – E. Lockhart, We Were Liars (2014)

I think all these quotes are amazing and I could honestly go on forever picking out more and more from my favourite books. Ah, to be in the minds of these author’s and see just how they put together these words to create such wonderful ideas. Please feel free to comment your favourite book quotes.

Also, I just wanted to share this article from Time because it is adorable. I want to keep the Gryffindor puppy.

One thought on “World Book Day

Leave a Reply

